Des récifs développés mais peu colorés, et les meilleurs spots des îles principales pour voir des phoques-moines

Kauai, avec les paysages dramatiques de la Napali Coast, est l’une des plus belles îles au monde. Sous l’eau, le snorkeling est plutôt agréable, sans être toutefois aussi spectaculaire qu’à Maui et Big Island notamment.

Kauai étant l’île la plus ancienne d’Hawaii, des récifs « barrière » ont eu le temps de s’y développer. Ils permettent la pratique du snorkeling dans de bonnes conditions de sécurité, bien qu’il faille souvent tenir compte des courants entrants et sortants dans les petits « lagons ».

Kee Beach lagoon
Le petit « lagon » de Ke’e Beach, au pied de la Napali Coast, est l’un des spots de palmes-masque-tuba les plus fréquentés de Kauai.

On peut explorer autour de Kauai une quinzaine de spots de snorkeling, la plupart concentrés dans deux régions: la North Shore, autour d’Hanalei, et le littoral qui s’étend à l’ouest de Poipu, dans le sud de l’île. Ailleurs, les possibilités de se mettre à l’eau se comptent sur les doigts d’une main.

La région d’Hanalei est la zone la plus réputée pour le snorkeling à Kauai. C’est là que se trouvent certains des plus beaux spots de l’île. En hiver, cette partie de la côte est cependant battue par des vagues impressionnantes qui, malgré la protection qu’offrent les barrières de corail, peuvent rendre les spots impraticables.

Hawaiian monk seal
A Tunnels Beach, il est fréquent de faire la rencontre d’un phoque-moine d’Hawaii occupé à chasser sur le récif.

Juste à l’est d’Hanalei, plusieurs spots de snorkeling se succèdent. Puu Poa Beach, Hideaway Beach, Anini Beach et les plages voisines de Kahilikai et Kahiliwai sont de bonnes options. Mais pour les meilleurs spots de la North Shore, prenez plutôt depuis Hanalei la route qui longe la côte en direction de l’ouest.

Vous pourrez ainsi rejoindre Kepuhi Point (seulement envisageable quand l’océan est calme), Tunnels Beach (aka Makua Beach, sans doute le meilleur spot de Kauai pour espérer voir un phoque-moine), et enfin Ke’e Beach, tout au bout de la route, aux portes de la Napali Coast.

Tunnels Beach reef
Le récif corallien de Tunnels Beach (aussi appelée Makua Beach).

De l’autre côté de l’île, plusieurs bons spots de PMT se succèdent sur environ 5km de côte, autour de Koloa. On conseille particulièrement les plages jumelles du Poipu Beach Park (surtout pour les débutants), le spot de Koloa Landing -où l’on se met à l’eau depuis une rampe pour bateaux-, ainsi que Lawai Beach.

A 30 minutes de route plus à l’ouest, le Salt Pond Beach Park, où l’on peut explorer un lagon protégé par un récif, est aussi une bonne option.

La Napali Coast, la côte nord-ouest de Kauai, est complètement sauvage et inaccessible en voiture. Vous trouverez à Kauai un grand choix d’excursions en bateau pour la Napali Coast. Vous pourrez ainsi découvrir depuis l’océan l’un des plus beaux paysages de l’archipel d’Hawaii, et faire du PMT sur les récifs coralliens qui se sont développés au pied de ses falaises monumentales.

Arc-eye hawkfish
Le poisson-épervier à tempe annelée est commun sur les récifs de Kauai, comme ici à Tunnels Beach. Il reste posté sur le corail, attendant qu’une proie passe à proximité.

Parmi les spots les plus fréquentés par les tours en bateau sur la Napali Coast figurent notamment Nualolo Kai Beach et le récif situé à la sortie de la Kauhao Valley.

Plusieurs agences de Kauai proposent aussi des sorties en bateau sur l’île voisine de Niihau. La plupart de ces excursions comprennent des arrêts snorkeling, notamment au Lehua Crater.

450 espèces de poissons et 70 espèces de coraux peuplent les récifs de Kauai, dont près d’un quart sont endémiques de l’archipel. Les tortues vertes sont un peu moins communes à Kauai qu’à Oahu, Big Island ou Maui, mais on en observe assez régulièrement sur la North Shore.

Scrawled filefish
Un poisson-lime gribouillé et (au second plan) un chirurgien bagnard rencontrés sur le platier de Ke’e Beach.

C’est en revanche à Kauai que vous aurez le plus de chance de croiser, sur la plage ou dans l’eau, des phoques-moines d’Hawaii. Cette espèce endémique et menacée, dont la plupart des individus habitent les îles isolées du Nord-Ouest, fréquente régulièrement les côtes Kauai et de Niihau. Les meilleurs spots pour les voir sont Tunnels Beach, Poipu Beach, Ke’e Beach et Lehua Crater.

Quand partir faire du palmes-masque-tuba à Kauai?

Comme dans tout l’archipel, on distingue à Kauai deux saisons principales. L’été, de mai à octobre, est la saison la plus chaude (moyenne à 26,5°C, maximales 29,5°C), la moins pluvieuse et la plus ensoleillée. C’est la saison des ouragans, mais ils sont plutôt rares dans le Pacifique Nord.

En hiver, de novembre à avril, le temps est plus arrosé et changeant (intermittence de pluies tropicales et d’éclaircies), et l’air plus frais (moyenne à 24°C, maximales à 25,5°C).

La température de l’eau peut chuter à 23°C en hiver (ce qui reste très correct pour pratiquer le snorkeling), et atteindre un pic à 28-29°C au cœur de l’été (juin à septembre).

Enfin, sachez que l’hiver est la saison du surf à Hawaii, et la côte nord de Kauai (North Shore) devient en général impraticable pour les snorkelers pendant cette période.

JANVIER
FéVRIER
MARS
AVRIL
MAI
JUIN
JUILLET
AOûT
SEPTEMBRE
OCTOBRE
NOVEMBRE
DéCEMBRE
Variable, vagues importantes dans certaines zones
Chaud et ensoleillé
Variable

Plus de 300 spots ont déjà été publiés sur Snorkeling Report, mais de nombreux restent encore à ajouter! Vous pouvez vous aussi contribuer à remplir notre atlas en partageant vos spots de snorkeling préférés dans le monde entier!

AJOUTEZ UN SPOT

où les VOIR?

Découvrez sur quels spots de cette destination vous aurez le plus de chances de voir l’espèce que vous souhaitez.

Extensive coral reefs, and some of the best spots in the main Hawaiian Islands to see monk seals

Kauai, boasting the dramatic landscapes of the Napali Coast, is one of the most beautiful islands in the world. Underwater, snorkeling is okay, but not as spectacular as in Maui and Big Island in particular.

Kauai is Hawaii’s oldest island; extensive reefs have had time to develop there. They allow the practice of snorkeling in good safety conditions, although you should be aware of the cut currents in the small “lagoons”.

Kee Beach lagoon
Small Ke’e Beach reef, at the foot of the Napali Coast, might be Kauai’s most visited snorkeling spot.

Around 15 snorkeling spots can be explored around Kauai, most of which are located in two regions: the North Shore, around Hanalei, and the coastline which stretches west of Poipu, on the south coast of the island.

Elsewhere, the possibilities of getting into the water can be counted on the fingers of one hand. The Hanalei region is the most famous area for snorkeling in Kauai. This is where some of the most beautiful spots on the island are located. In winter, however, this part of the coast is exposed to swells and huge waves that make most of the locations dangerous to snorkel.

Hawaiian monk seal
Encounters with Hawaiian monk seals are frequent along Kauai’s shore, particularly in Tunnels Beach.

A few minutes drive east of Hanalei, you will find several snorkeling spots that follow one another along the shore. Puu Poa Beach, Hideaway Beach, Anini Beach, and neighboring Kahilikai Beach and Kahiliwai Beach are good options when the ocean conditions allow.

But for the best spots on the North Shore, take the road that runs along the coast heading west from Hanalei. You will reach Kepuhi Point, which is quite exposed and to be snorkeled only when the ocean is perfectly calm.

Tunnels Beach (aka Makua Beach) is undoubtedly the best spot in Kauai to encounter monk seals.  Finally,  Ke’e Beach, at the very end of the road, is the gateway to the Napali Coast.

Tunnels Beach reef
Tunnels (Makua) Beach coral reef, on the North Shore.

On the other side of the island, several good snorkeling spots are found within 3 miles of the coastline around Koloa. In this area, we particularly recommend the twin beaches of Poipu Beach Park (especially for beginners), Koloa Landing where you get into the water from an old boat ramp. We also recommend Lawai Beach.

A 30-minute drive further west is Salt Pond Beach Park, where you can explore a lagoon protected by a reef, makes for another good option.

The Napali Coast, the northwest coast of Kauai, is totally wild and can’t be accessed by road. You’ll find in Kauai a large choice of boat tours to the Napali Coast. Tours will allow you to discover one of the most beautiful landscapes of the Hawaiian archipelago. With a tour, you will also be able to snorkel on the coral reefs that have grown along this remote part of the coast.

Arc-eye hawkfish
The arc-eye hawkfish is easy to spot at reef in Kauai. They spend most of their time perched on corals, waiting for prey to approach too close. Photographed in Tunnels Beach.

Some of the most popular spots for boat tours on the Napali Coast include Nualolo Kai Beach and the reef just out of Kauhao Valley. Several Kauai tour operators also offer boat trips to the neighboring island of Niihau. Most of these tours include snorkeling stops, especially at Lehua Crater.

450 species of fish and 70 species of corals inhabit Kauai’s reefs, nearly a quarter of which being endemic to the archipelago. Green sea turtles are less common on Kauai than on Oahu, Big Island, or Maui, but they are seen quite easily on the North Shore.

Scrawled filefish
A scrawled filefish and -in the background- a convict tang, encountered at Ke’e Beach reef flat.

On the other hand, it is in Kauai that you are most likely to encounter Hawaiian monk seals on the beach or at sea. This endemic and endangered species, most of whose individuals inhabit the isolated northwestern islands, regularly frequents the Kauai and Niihau coasts. The best spots to see them are Tunnels Beach, Poipu Beach, Ke’e Beach and Lehua Crater.

Snorkeling in Hawaii soon? Take with you a Fish ID Book, an essential tool to help you identify the fish you see underwater. Hawaii’s Fishes : A Guide for Snorkelers and Divers (including fish species found in Hawaii only) and Reef Fish Identification Tropical Pacific (including marine fishes ranging from Thailand to Tahiti, including Hawaii) are the two main references.

When to go snorkeling Kauai

As elsewhere in the archipelago, there are two main seasons in Kauai. The summer, from May to October, is the warmest, driest and sunniest season (with an average of 80°F/26.5°C, and maximum temperatures of 85°F/29.5°C). This is the hurricane season, but they are rare in the North Pacific.

In winter, from November to April, the weather is wetter and more changeable with intermittent tropical rains and sunny spells. The air is cooler (an average of 75°F/24°C, with maximum temperatures of 78°F/25.5°C).

The water temperature can fall to 73°F/23°C in winter, which is still a good temperature for snorkeling, and reach a peak of 82-84°F/28-29°C in the heart of the summer (June to September).

Lastly, you should remember that winter is the surfing season in Hawaii, and it is sometimes hard for snorkelers to access the northern coast of Kauai (North Shore) during this period.

JANUARY
FEBRUARY
MARCH
APRIL
MAY
JUNE
JULY
AUGUST
SEPTEMBER
OCTOBER
NOVEMBER
DECEMBER
Variable, high waves in some areas
Warm and sunny
Variable

300+ spots have been featured on Snorkeling Report with the help of people like you. Share your favorite snorkeling spot and help us cover the world map. Your contribution will help the snorkeling community find sites and enjoy the underwater world!

ADD A SPOT

Where to spot them?

Discover on which snorkeling spots you are most likely to see your favorite species